June 2004

SJRCC Honors Adult Education Graduates

On Saturday, June 26th, St. Johns River Community College honored adults who have received their State of Florida High School Diplomas through SJRCC's GED Testing Center. Of the 547 GED examinees who successfully passed the General Educational Development (GED) exam from July 1, 2003 through June 30, 2004, over 60 participated in the graduation ceremony in the Fine Arts Auditorium on the Palatka Campus. The graduates received their diplomas in front of a packed audience of over 600 friends and family members.

During the ceremony, Reece Barnette received the scholarship award. The scholarship winner will receive a full year of tuition paid to St. Johns River Community College. To be considered for the scholarship, a committee reviews the students' GED exam scores (must be over 3,000) and their academic and career planning goals.

In addition to the SJRCC Scholarship, a Special Achievement Award was presented to Cassie Blacklidge from the Putnam County School District Adult Education Program. Ms. Cindy Ehrhardt and several other faculty members and administrators from the school district collected donations to assist their chosen student in attending a post-secondary institution of the student's choice.

"The GED exams are given 12 times per year. Over 90 percent of the students who complete a GED preparation course of study pass the GED exam on the first try," said Dr. Lyndarae Martin, Dean of Adult Education. This year, SJRCC served 438 students in the Adult Education program.

SJRCC's Adult Education Program is available to those who have dropped out of high school, who want to improve their basic educational skills to go to college, or for those who need more experience in writing, reading and/or math to enhance their job skills. Students enrolled in the program range in age from 16 to 74 years. The curriculum focuses on the basic subject areas (mathematics, algebra, English and reading) needed to pass the GED exam or the College Placement Test.

Karl N. Flagg, Mayor of Palatka, was the commencement speaker. Flagg is a graduate of St. Johns River Community College, Miami-Dade Community College and New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary. Flagg is also the Pastor of Mt. Tabor First Baptist Church. "We salute each of you tonight...You must be resolute in that you have come too far to turn back. Now you must make a difference in your home, your neighborhood and your community. I challenge each of you to do what is right. Get in the vehicle of community responsibility," he said.

The next GED exam will be July 15 & 16 and registration for the exam will be held July 6th through 9th. For more information call the SJRCC Adult Education Department at 312-4080 or visit online at

Special Achievement Award was presented to Cassie Blacklidge from the Putnam County School District Adult Education Program. Ms. Cindy Ehrhardt presents the award to Cassie Blacklidge.

2003-2004 graduates participating in the graduation ceremony on June 26 are as follows:

Krystle Marie Adkins
Neena Diane Amon
Suzanne Lei Bainbridge
Chaney R.L. Baker
Cassie Blacklidge
Corey Blocker
William L. Branton, III
Mathew Brewer
Ashley Rene Brock
Bethany Leah Brooks
Shakeara Elizabeth Butler
Michael Ciccarone
Josehine Maria Crowley
Casey DePalma
Crystal Eiland
Billy Flowler, Jr.
Shirley Frame
Tina Marie Frame
Betty Franklin
Luann Hamilton
Andrea R. Harrison
Ashley Elizabeth Harrison
Carolyn D. Hayes
Dina Hines
Brett Alan Hubbart
Travis James Hudson
Billy Jarvis, Jr.
Jonathan Janovic
Lacy Marie Kimball
Tabetha Ann Lawson
Korili Ann LeBlanc
Bradley K. Lester
Vivian Johnson McKnight
Shaina Emma Martinez
Stacy Diane Merritt
Daniel Messom
Kenneth E. Miller
Sabrina Ann Millinder
Samantha Moody
Lorie Nichols
Kimberly Jo Parks
William R. Papoosha, Sr.
Brian Anthony Pi-a
Michael Ponce
Christy Queen
Johnny Register
Merisa Rice
Craig Allen Richardson
Rebecca Nicole Roark
Jeffery Roberts
Daniel Christopher Rolon
Michael A. Salcedo
Shandreka Lee Shazel
Marquita Le'Tres Smith
Heather Ann Terrell
Heather Marie Toland
Ann Jepson Tucker
Vivian V. Vazquez
Erin Walters
Sheena Marie Wilkinson
Tiffani Marie Williams
Kenneth Lee Willis
Felicia Kay Wilson
Samantha Lynn Wimmer
Donna F. Yochem
William F. Yochem, Jr.