Golf Classic winners
Golf Classic winners
SJR State golf classic raises funds to benefit athletic programs

The St. Johns River State College Athletic Association recently hosted its annual golf classic at the Palatka Municipal Golf Course.

The team members winning the gross division at 58 were Jim Keely, Ron Taylor, Curtis West and Randy Werkheiser.

First place net foursome winners were Brian Church, Chris Steer, Larry Summers and Xumar Torres.

Winning the putting contest and a leather recliner from Badcock’s Furniture was Ron Taylor.

Players winning “closest to pin” was Janet Chaffin (#3); Spanky Aaron (#6); Daniel Wilhite (#12); Steve Foley (#14); and Kevin Keith (#16).

Thanks to the participants, hole-sponsors and sponsors Jack Wilson Chevrolet-Buick-GMC, Oliver Oaks & Vines, and FROG - Florida Radiation Oncology Group, the athletic department will continue its recruiting efforts with additional funds for its three athletic programs.

SJR State’s athletic programs are based on the Palatka campus and consist of men’s baseball, women’s fast-pitch softball and women’s volleyball. For more information about the golf classic, contact the SJR State Athletic Department at (386) 312-4162.