2016 distinguished, outstanding faculty named

Richard Webb
Mark Willson

St. Johns River State College presented its 2016 Distinguished New Faculty and Outstanding Faculty Awards at the College’s annual fall Faculty Convocation held at the Thrasher-Horne Center for the Arts. Paramedic and emergency medical technician (EMT) instructor Richard Webb was awarded the 2016 Distinguished New Faculty Award, and mathematics instructor Mark Wilson received the Outstanding Faculty Award. The awards are sponsored by the SJR State Foundation.

The Distinguished New Faculty Award recognizes a new faculty member who has demonstrated strength using new instructional techniques and creative ways of thinking to successfully guide students into the future. The faculty member’s depth and breadth of expertise, sensitivity, enthusiasm and dedication are all factors considered for this award. Additionally, the recipient excels at inspiring students to perform beyond normal expectations and is responsive to addressing needs within and outside the classroom.

According to SJR State Associate Dean of Allied Health Holly Coulliette, Webb is the epitome of the criteria for this award. "Richard has brought expertise, sensitivity to student needs, dedication and enthusiasm to SJR State's EMS programs," she said. "He is one of the few instructors to earn a 5.00 result on the Summa evaluations (Student evaluation results) during my three years in the administrative role of Associate Dean of Allied Health."

Richard brings 30 years of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) experience with him to SJR State and is currently working on his master's degree in Disaster and Emergency Management. "Richard embraces the College's mission to provide high quality education to a diverse population," said Coulliette. "In the EMT program, he has seen a variety of age, race, ability and overall attitudes. Some of these students have never taken a college class...The amount of time spent counseling these students, following up with all aspects and remediating, is unprecedented."

The Outstanding Faculty Award pays tribute to a faculty member who continuously demonstrates a commitment to the unique mission of the College and whose accomplishments in teaching and service are prodigious and of the highest quality. The recipient of this award must be an inspiring, challenging and effective teacher whose concern and respect for students are evident both in and out of the classroom. Additionally, the faculty member must make important and extensive contributions to the field and share those contributions with peers.

Wilson teaches a full math load and also serves as the curriculum coordinator for the St. Augustine campus, where he works with faculty to create the best schedule for students. He has been a critical part of the College’s Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) committee, which was designed to further SJR State’s mission to encourage the pursuit of academic excellence and scholarly achievement through high quality instruction. Wilson has been instrumental in contributing to the Conquer Math QEP, which serves to improve student learning and student success in Intermediate Algebra. He brings a wealth of knowledge and strong leadership skills to both the Math department and the College.

According to Wilson’s colleague Bonnie Aspinwall, who also teaches mathematics, "Mark has been my mentor since I came to the College nine years ago. We worked together running the Tutoring Center. Mark is almost always nominated for the Faculty of the Year on our campus. And he wins often. He attends workshops and conferences, honing his teaching skills, and his teaching style is well known amongst the students. His dedication to them is legendary."


SJR State paramedic and emergency medical technician (EMT) professor Richard Webb receives the 2016 Distinguished New Faculty Award from SJR State President Joe Pickens. The award is sponsored by the SJR State Foundation.

SJR State mathematics instructor Mark Wilson receives the 2016 Outstanding Faculty Award from SJR State President Joe Pickens. The award is sponsored by the SJR State Foundation.



Susan Kessler
Director of Public Relations and Publications
(386) 312-4020