MAY 2016

SJR State holds nursing pinning ceremony

Academic Excellence Award
Florence Nightingale Award

St. Johns River State College recently held a pinning ceremony to recognize the Associate in Science in Nursing students. The pinning ceremony symbolizes the “rite of passage into the nursing profession,” said Anna Lebesch, Ed.D., SJR State’s vice president for workforce development and Orange Park campus executive director.  The pin is a reminder to the 51 graduates of their purpose to serve the sick and infirmed.

Students were pinned by family members.  Lebesch described the pinning ceremony as the symbol of the care and devotion nurses provide. The ceremony is also a continued tradition of Florence Nightingale’s extended honor to her most outstanding nurses.

René Grosdidier, director of nursing for St. Vincent’s Medical Center of Clay County, addressed the graduates as the guest speaker. 

During the ceremony, Clay County residents Brandon Buzard and Shawn Hester received the Academic Excellence Award.  Matthew Hurst, of Putnam County, and Josie Sims, of Duval County, received the Florence Nightingale Award for special achievement throughout the two-year program.     

Students from Clay County:  Cynthia Bierce, Misty Black, Tameka Boyle, Brandon Buzard, Charlena Charles, Laura Childs, Rulx Desir, Jessica Dixon, Shawn Hester, Megan Hughes, Ariana Jeffers, Rebecca Johnson, Susan Kraemer, Erika Mulford, John Ogden Sr., Chelsea Oliver, Kari Rewis, Ashleigh Slonaker and Lindsey Stokes.

Students from St. Johns County:  Tiffany Chance, Anna Cushman, Christine Edwards, Brooke Emerson, Katrina Harrison, Heather Hollender, Tara King, Natasha Landry, Courtney Rubino,
Tracy Russell, Sydney Stowe, Leanna Swilley, Lindsey Walker, Kimberly Von Dolteren and Christina Willard. 

Students from Putnam County:  Tammy Bailey, Crystal Eason, Matthew Hurst, Brittany Jackson, Erin Kennedy, Michelle Martinez, Daniel Pitts and Cynthia Torres.

Students from Duval County:  Donna Abbruzzino, Edel Kate Ampongan, Danielle Howell, Kelly Phung, Josie Sims and Kate-Lynn Thurman. 

Students from other counties:  Josephine Delay, Tyler Oswald and Emily Propper
SJR State’s nursing program is accredited by the National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission.  Classes are offered in Palatka and Orange Park.  Applications for the Fall 2016 nursing classes on the Orange Park and Palatka campuses will be accepted through May 31.  Specific prerequisites and requirements apply and must be completed prior to the first day of the application period. 

SJR State offers additional health programs such as respiratory care, nursing assistant, health information management and radiologic technology. For more information on degree and certificate programs in the health field, call (386) 312-4176.

grad students
grad students


In addition to the ceremony, select students received awards for special achievement throughout the two-year program. Clay County residents Brandon Buzard (left) and Shawn Hester each received the Academic Excellence Award. 

From left:  Josie Sims, of Duval County, and Matthew Hurst, of Putnam County, were each honored with the Florence Nightingale Award. 

Nursing students enrolled in the Orange Park program:

Front Row, L-R:  Kari Rewis, Donna Abbruzzino, Erika Mulford, Cynthia Bierce, Lindsey Stokes and Edel Kate Ampongan

Second Row, L-R:  Tameka Boyle, Kelly Phung, Rebecca Johnson, Emily Propper, Jessica Dixon and Christina Willard

Third Row, L-R:  Rulx Desir, Megan Hughes, Charlena Charles, Kate-Lynn Thurman and Ariana Jeffers

Fourth Row, L-R:  Danielle Howell, Josie Sims, Laura Childs, Ashleigh Slonaker and Misty Black
Back Row, L-R:  Brandon Buzard, Chelsea Oliver, Susan Kraemer, Kimberly Von Dolteren and John Ogden, Sr.

Nursing students enrolled in the Palatka program:

Front Row, L-R:  Christine Edwards, Brittany Jackson, Josephine Delay, Brooke Emerson, Cynthia Torres, Leanna Swilley, Crystal Eason, Natasha Landry, Michelle Martinez, Tara King, Heather Hollender, Tammy Bailey and Tiffany Chance

Back Row, L-R:  Tracy Russell, Anna Cushman, Lindsey Walker, Katrina Harrison, Daniel Pitts, Tyler Oswald, Matthew Hurst, Sydney Stowe, Shawn Hester, Erin Kennedy and Courtney Rubino