MAY 2016

SJR State holds radiology pinning ceremony

St. Johns River State College faculty, administration and staff recently held a pinning ceremony to honor Radiologic Technology students. 

The students were each presented with a special pin during the ceremony before family and friends, recognizing their accomplishments and hard work in completing the program and becoming eligible to join the profession of radiologic technologists.

Radiologic Technology Program Director Ingrid Wright congratulated the class on their outstanding academic and clinical achievements and for completing the program with considerable compassion and commitment. “These students have completed 77 credit hours of coursework, over 1,500 hours of clinical experience at our partner hospitals and imaging centers, and it seems like millions of hours studying for a multitude of exams,” Wright said.  “All have had outstanding scores on their clinical evaluations for their patient care.”

Students completing the program from St. Johns County are: Stephanie Andrews, Janelle Gebert, Angelo Hernandez, Vivian Kelly, Katie Smith, Meagan Taylor and Sean Tirello

Students completing the program from Clay County are:  Eva Diaz, Ashley Barlowe, Jennifer Campbell, Amanda Crosbie, Scott Lewis and Taylor Long.

The student completing the program from Putnam County is Matthew Davis.

During the ceremony Larry Smith, radiology director at Flagler Hospital, presented the inaugural Daniel Maj Scholarship to Matthew Davis. The scholarship was created to honor the former Flagler radiologic supervisor and SJR State alumnus who passed away in 2014. The scholarship will be presented each year to the student who exhibits the highest performance scores.

The Associate in Science degree program prepares students for careers as radiologic technologists. Graduates will be eligible to take the National Certification
Examination administered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists. ARRT certification is recognized throughout the country, and successful completion of the exam allows students to become licensed by the State of Florida to practice radiography.

SJR State’s Radiologic Technology program is offered on the St. Augustine campus.  Specific prerequisites and requirements apply and must be completed prior to the first day of the application period.  Applications are being accepted for the fall semester through May 15.

SJR State offers additional health care programs such as emergency medical technician, paramedic, respiratory care, health information technology and the LPN bridge to ASN. For more information on degree and certificate programs in the health field, visit the website at


radiologic students

St. Johns River State College students completing the two-year degree program in Radiologic Technology and participating in the pinning ceremony were:

Front row, left to right: Stephanie Andrews, Angelo Hernandez, Eva Diaz, Jennifer Campbell and Vivian Kelly.

Second row: Meagan Taylor, Ashley Barlowe, Sean Tirello, Taylor Long, Amanda Crosbie, Matthew Davis, Katie Smith, Janelle Gebert, Scott Lewis, and program director Ingrid Wright.

Third row: clinical coordinator Michael Pawlukiewicz.