MARCH 2016

SJR State College honor society inducts 17 members

The St. Johns River State College Phi Theta Kappa honor society recently held its spring induction ceremony.   The new members lit candles and recited their oath in front of family and friends at SJR State’s St. Augustine campus.  A reception followed the ceremony.

The St. Augustine campus new chapter members are:   Hope Broskie, Afsana Catron, Egle Donaghue, Thomas Donovan, Jacob Grubbs, Anila Lahiri, Joel Mitchell, Joanna Monetti, Isabella Parra, Haley Perra, Tony Roy, Walker Sage, Payton Serdar, Makenzie Simonson, Michelle Terrell, Christen Tompkins and Cybill Winkel.    

To join PTK, members must have completed 12 credit hours at a two-year institution and hold a 3.5 grade point average. The organization also promotes scholarships.

To learn more about the Phi Theta Kappa honor society, visit


Members attending the ceremony were:
Front row, from left:  Jordan Petkoski*, Michelle Terrell, Walker Sage, Isabella Parra, Payton Serdar, Joel Mitchell, Stephen Blackman*
Back row, from left:   Justin McQuillen*, Makenzie Simonson, Ryan Skelly*, Thomas Donovan, Egle Donaghue, Cybill Winkel, Anne
Marie Widener*    

*PTK officers