APRIL 2019

SJR State students honored at annual awards ceremony

Victoria Sina Tate, Sha’uri Gongora Castillo, Stella Belony, Caleb Arsenault and Timothy Guilbeault
Stella Belony, Melanie Brown, Ingrid Wright
Stephen Tomasovitch,  Stella Belony

St. Johns River State College administrators, faculty and staff recently gathered to honor students at the St. Augustine campus for their academic and club/community service achievements.

Each year, the Hall of Fame Award is presented to a select number of students recommended by faculty for academic excellence and extracurricular involvement. Caleb Arsenault, Stella Belony, Ishmel Brown-Crawford, Nathaniel Ray Cooley, Sha’uri Gongora Castillo, Timothy Guilbeault, Joshua James Kjoelen and Victoria Sina Tate were honored as the 2019 inductees into the SJR State Hall of Fame.

Lisa Torres was the recipient of the Dr. Applewhite Humanitarian Scholarship Award. The award was created in honor of the late SJR State science professor Dr. Doug Applewhite and is awarded each year to a student who has displayed diligent community efforts.

The Student Leadership Award was presented to Student Government Association (SGA) President Stella Belony. On behalf of SGA, Belony presented the Professor of the Year Award to Radiologic Technology instructor Ingrid Wright.

Annually, Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) recognizes the most outstanding students in the Florida College System based on academic achievement, leadership and service to the community by naming them to the All-Florida Academic Team. Dante Downie and Andrew Vaughn were recognized for being named to this team.

Additional academic awards were presented, and club members and officers were recognized. Club recognition was given to students involved in the SGA, PTK, and Rotaract Club, as well as in the Art, International, Oration, and Radiology clubs. Through these clubs and organizations, SJR State’s active campus life is an open door for students to meet new people and take part in a dynamic teamwork and leadership capacity. The clubs and organizations also provide extracurricular activities on campus and an opportunity for students to participate in community service projects.

SJR State students Victoria Sina Tate, Sha’uri Gongora Castillo, Stella Belony, Caleb Arsenault and Timothy Guilbeault are the 2019 St. Augustine campus inductees into the College’s Hall of Fame. Not pictured: Ishmel Brown-Crawford, Nathaniel Ray Cooley and Joshua James Kjoelen.

SJR State Student Government Association President Stella Belony, left, along with Vice President for Academic Affairs Melanie Brown, right, presents Radiologic Technology instructor Ingrid Wright with the Professor of the Year award.

SJR State’s Student Activities Coordinator Stephen Tomasovitch presents Stella Belony with the SJR State Student Leadership Award.


Susan Kessler
Director of Public Relations and Publications
(386) 312-4020