APRIL 2018

SJR State students honored at annual awards ceremony

 Hall of Fame Mary Steele and Dr. Gilbert Evans
Prof of the year Rebecca Sullivan and Prof Fr. Doug Applewhite
Mary Steele and Alex Wescott recieve leadership award from Stephen Tomasovitch

St. Johns River State College administrators, faculty and staff recently gathered to honor students on the St. Augustine campus for their academic and club/community service achievements.

Mary Steele was honored as the 2018 inductee into the SJR State Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame award is presented each year to a select number of students who are recommended by faculty for their academic excellence and extracurricular involvement.

Steele was also the recipient of the Dr. Applewhite Humanitarian Scholarship Award. The scholarship was created in honor of the late SJR State science professor Dr. Doug Applewhite and is awarded each year to one student for his or her diligent community efforts.

Each year, Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) recognizes the most outstanding students in the Florida College System based on academic achievement, leadership and service to the community by naming them to the All-Florida Academic Team. St. Johns County student Jordan Heyn was one of the two SJR State students named.

The Student Leadership Award was presented to Alex Wescott and Mary Steele.

Also during the ceremony, the SJR State Student Government Association presented English instructor Rebecca Sullivan with the Professor of the Year award.

Additional academic awards were presented, as well as recognition for members and officers of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society and the gaming, Spanish, Rotaract and art clubs. SJR State’s active campus life is an open door for students to meet new people and take part in a dynamic teamwork and leadership capacity in clubs and organizations. These clubs and organizations provide extracurricular activities on campus and an opportunity for the students to participate in community service projects.

SJR State Vice President for Student Affairs Gilbert Evans recognizes Mary Steele as the 2018 St. Augustine campus inductee into the College’s Hall of Fame.

SJR State Government Association President Alex Wescott presents English instructor Rebecca Sullivan with the Professor of the Year award.

SJR State’s Student Activities Coordinator Stephen Tomasovitch (left) presents Mary Steel and Alex Wescott with the SJR State Student Leadership Award.


Susan Kessler
Director of Public Relations and Publications
(386) 312-4020