JUNE 2019

Florida School of the Arts honors graduates

Florida School of the Arts recently bid farewell to graduates now on their way to pursue careers in art galleries, on stage or behind the scenes in the entertainment industry. Many will continue their education at universities before finding their niche in the arts. The College honored students who received their associate degrees in the visual and performing arts at the St. Johns River State College Palatka campus.

The commencement speech was given by FloArts alumna “Monet.” Monet is a graduate from Harvard University in affiliation with the Tony Award-winning American Repertory Theatre. Monet has also studied abroad at the world-renowned Moscow Art Theatre School. She currently resides in New York City where she is pursuing her acting career.

Outstanding graduates were also recognized during the ceremony. The award for Outstanding Graduate in the Performing Arts was presented to Facia Lee, who will continue her education in musical theatre at Palm Beach Atlantic University.

floarts awards recipients Lee, Borko, Ness and Ortiz-Hernandez

The award for Outstanding Graduate in the Visual Arts was presented to Lydia Isabella Borko, who will continue her work as a freelance visual artist and potter while she researches bachelor’s degree programs.

Outstanding Graduate Awards for Design and Technical Theatre were presented to Alysa Ness, who will pursue a bachelor’s degree in stage management at the University of Montevallo.

The Outstanding Academic Achievement award was presented to Loudise Ortiz-Hernandez, who will pursue a bachelor’s degree in acting from Jacksonville University.

Florida School of the Arts graduates are as follows: Lakeshia Abram, Robert Allen Ill, Katrina Babitzke, Julie Barnes, Victoria Blair, Alberto Blanco, Lydia Borko, Evan Bowen, Danielle Brownfield, Ta'Neil Cargill, Austin Carroll, Jahleel Christian, Saralyn Cieri, Dana Cox, Emely Cuestas, Gabriela Delacruz, Julian Delgado, Danielle DuBois, Rachel Espino, Kevin Figueroa, Tatiyana Firth, Allyson Futch, Evan Gastelum, Amaani Grant, Dane Hansen, Naomi Huff, Alantae Jackson, Ashley Leake, Facia Lee, Sean Mansfield, Rowan Maris, Alysa Ness, Loudise Ortiz-Hernandez, Jeffery Parmenter, Noah Peacock, Caitlin Pecknold, Emily Poehlman, Brittany Posso, Angelee Ramos, Mark Anthony Rodriguez-Wildman, Melanie Rodriguez, Yasmin Rohena, Kirsten Rude, Katrin Silvis, Emily Skinner, Hayley Smith, Kaylei Smith, Carine St. Juste, Andrew Stevens, Vincent Ward, Patrice Williams and Samantha Woodward.

floarts group photo

Florida School of the Arts is part of the academic and administrative structure of SJR State and awards the two-year associate degree in the following areas of study: visual art, stage management, dance performance, theater technology, acting and musical theater. The School serves the entire state of Florida. Admission is based on an audition or portfolio review, an interview with the faculty and admission to SJR State. Students produce and perform in approximately four visual art exhibitions and 10 performances each year. For more information about Florida School of the Arts, call 386-312-4300 or visit online at

Florida School of the Arts recently held its annual commencement, where more than 50 visual and performing artists were recognized for earning their associates degree.



Susan Kessler
Director of Public Relations and Publications
(386) 312-4020