MARCH 2020

2020 distinguished, outstanding faculty, staff named

President Pickens and Ingrid Wright
   Ingrid Wright

President Pickens and Dawn McLane
   Dawn McLane

President Pickens and Patti Cason
   Patti Cason

President Pickens and Adam Brazzeal
   Adam Brazzeal

St. Johns River State College recently presented its annual faculty and staff awards during the College’s Annual Professional Development Day.

The Outstanding Faculty Award was presented to Ingrid Wright, radiologic technology program director, and the Distinguished New Faculty Award was presented to Dawn McLane, biological sciences instructor. Awards for Career Service/Professional Staff Excellence were presented to Patti Cason, Florida School of the Arts administrative assistant, and Adam Brazzeal, systems administrator.

Vice President for Development and External Affairs Caroline Tingle said, "Our College’s faculty and staff are core to the success of our students and programs. These award recognitions provide us an opportunity to acknowledge and thank exceptional employees for their contributions, dedication and commitment to the SJR State community."

The Outstanding Faculty Award is designed to pay tribute to a faculty member who continuously demonstrates a commitment to the unique mission of SJR State, including being an inspiring, challenging, and effective teacher with evident concern and respect for students both in and out of the classroom.

The Distinguished New Faculty Award is designed to pay tribute to new educators who guide students into the future and are responsive to needs both within and outside of the classroom. The individual’s depth and breadth of expertise, sensitivity, enthusiasm, and dedication are all factors considered.

The Career Service/Professional Staff Excellence Award honors employees who continuously exceed expectations in their positions and strive to make a positive difference for the College. Their efforts and leadership abilities create a better working environment for employees and a better learning environment for students.

The awards were sponsored by the SJR State Foundation, whose mission is to support the growth and development of SJR State in the various ways that are beneficial to its students, faculty, staff and campus facilities, located in Orange Park, Palatka and St. Augustine.

Celebrating 60 years of service, SJR State has built a solid reputation as a full-service college dedicated to meeting the educational and workforce training needs of its Northeast Florida district. For more information, visit the website at

SJR State radiologic technology program director Ingrid Wright receives the 2020 Outstanding Faculty Award, and SJR State biological sciences instructor Dawn McLane receives the 2020 Distinguished New Faculty Award. Patti Cason, administrative assistant at the Florida School of the Arts, and Adam Brazzeal, systems administrator, receive the Career Service/Professional Staff Excellence Awards.

SJR State President Joe Pickens and Vice President for Development and External Affairs Caroline Tingle presented the awards, which were sponsored by the SJR State Foundation.



Susan Kessler
Director of Public Relations and Publications
(386) 312-4020