Nursing graduates honored at fall pinning

December Nursing Award Recipients
December Nursing Graduates

St. Johns River State College recently held a pinning ceremony at the St. Augustine campus to recognize the Associate in Science in Nursing graduates. The pinning ceremony symbolizes the rite of passage into the nursing profession and the care and devotion nurses provide and is a continued tradition of Florence Nightingale’s extended honor to her most outstanding nurses. The graduates received a pin that serves as a reminder of their purpose to serve the sick and infirmed.

Sequoia A. Nyitray from Columbia County was recognized with the Florence Nightingale Award for demonstrating outstanding scholarship, compassion toward others, leadership in class and devotion to clients and their families throughout the two-year program.

Rebeca Hernandez Ares was recognized with the Academic Excellence Award for strength and dedication in achieving and maintaining academic excellence during the program.

Student from Clay County: Heather Leino.

Students from St. Johns County: Rebeca Hernandez Ares, Melissa Mcfarlane-Boddie, Jacqueline Richards-Longmore and Jessica Rosenblum.

Students from Putnam County: Zachary Prioletti and Maegan Withem.

Students from other counties: Javonya Leach (Duval); Sequoia Nyitray (Columbia) and Rebekah Harris (Union).

SJR State’s nursing program is accredited by the National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission, and classes are offered at the Palatka and Orange Park campuses.

SJR State offers additional health programs such as respiratory care, nursing assistant, health information management and radiologic technology. For more information on degree and certificate programs in the health field, call (386) 312-4176 or visit

Students in the Associate in Nursing program at St. Johns River State College were recognized with the Florence Nightingale and Academic Excellence Awards at a recent pinning ceremony at the St. Augustine campus. From left: Sequoia A. Nyitray (Florence Nightingale Award) and Rebeca Hernandez Ares (Academic Excellence Award).

Students graduating with their Associate in Science degree in Nursing are, front row, from left: Rebekah Harris, Heather Leino, Rebeca Hernandez Ares, Javonya Leach and Jacqueline Richards-Longmore.
Back row, from left: Jessica Rosenblum, Sequoia Nyitray, Maegan Withem, Melissa Mcfarlane-Boddie, and Zachary Prioletti.



Susan Kessler
Director of Public Relations and Publications
(386) 312-4020